The following organisations are owned or partially owned by the Christchurch City Council.


Christchurch City Holdings Ltd (CCHL)

Christchurch City Holdings logo

 Christchurch City Holdings Ltd(external link) is 100% owned by the Council.

It holds shares in various trading companies and monitors other trading companies and their subsidiaries.

The subsidiary companies are:

  • Orion New Zealand Ltd
  • Christchurch International Airport Ltd
  • Enable Services Ltd
  • Lyttelton Port Company Ltd
  • RBL Property Limited
  • City Care Ltd
  • EcoCentral
  • Development Christchurch Ltd.

Annual reports

Statements of Intent

Development Christchurch Ltd

DCL logo imageDevelopment Christchurch Ltd (DCL) was established to collaborate in the regeneration and redevelopment of Christchurch.

DCL is Christchurch's urban development agency – a Council Controlled Trading Organisation (CCTO) and a wholly-owned subsidiary of Christchurch City Holdings Ltd (CCHL), the Council’s commercial holdings company. 

We work for Council and alongside Regenerate Christchurch, Ōtākaro and other agencies and stakeholders.

Statements of Intent



EcoCentral is a Council Controlled Trading Organisation (CCTO), 100% owned by the Council.

Working to reduce the amount of waste going to landfill and finding ways to ensure Christchurch is a leader in recycling.

Annual reports

Statements of Intent

RBL Property Limited

RBL Property Limited is a Council Controlled Trading Organisation (CCTO) 100% owned by the Council.

In December 2020 Red Bus Limited changed its name to RBL Property Limited.

Annual reports:

Statements of Intent:

Te Kaha Project Delivery Ltd

Transwaste Canterbury Ltd

Transwaste Canterbury Ltd(external link) is a joint venture between local authorities in the region and Canterbury Waste Services Limited (CWS), a wholly owned subsidiary of Waste Management NZ Limited, with Council owning 38.9%.

The purpose is to own and operate a non-hazardous regional landfill in Canterbury.

Annual reports

Statement of Intent



Central Plains Water Trust (CPWT)

CPWT website

The Central Plain Water Trust(external link) was established by the Christchurch City and Selwyn District Councils to facilitate the sustainable development of Central Canterbury’s water resources.

Central Plain Water Trust owns the resource consents to take water and holds these for use by Central Plains Water Limited, for use in the proposed Canterbury Plains Water Enhancement Scheme.

Annual reports

Statement of Intent

Mayor's Welfare Fund

The Mayor's Welfare Fund(external link) was established in 1897 as the Mayor's Coal and Blanket Fund. The fund provides assistance to families and individuals in our community who are in extreme financial distress.

The fund works with other helping agencies in the city and can provide assistance on a one-off basis where real needs can be shown.

The fund is a last resort measure when people have exhausted other appropriate sources such as Work and Income New Zealand (WINZ).

Annual reports

Ōtautahi Community Housing Trust

Ōtautahi Community Housing Trust(external link) is a registered community housing provider and charitable trust offering affordable homes and building sustainable communities across greater Ōtautahi.

Ōtautahi Community Housing Trust has been leasing the Christchurch City Council’s social housing portfolio since 2016.

Annual reports

Rod Donald Banks Peninsula Trust

Rod Donal Banks Peninsula Trust Logo

Rod Donald Banks Peninsula Trust (RDBPT)(external link) is a charitable trust and was created by the Council on 12 July 2010

The trust was established to honour the memory of Rod Donald and his commitment to Banks Peninsula. The trust exists for the benefit of the present and future inhabitants of the Banks Peninsula and visitors to the region.

The trust’s long-term vision is to restore the Banks Peninsula to its traditional status as Te Pataka o Rakaihautu – the storehouse that nourishes. In pursuit of this vision, the trust promotes the sustainable management and conservation of the natural environment of the Banks Peninsula.

Annual reports

Statements of Intent