Further Notice of By-Election for the Coastal Ward

Seven nominations have been received to fill the extraordinary vacancy for the Coastal Ward of the Christchurch City Council. The confirmed candidates are: 

BARBER  Kelly  Labour
DONOVAN Celeste  Independent - Positive Community Action
EAST  David Independent
HAYS  Katie    
HOPMAN Andre Independent
ISAACS   Caleb Independent
NITRO Nikora   

An election is therefore required to determine the successful candidate and will be conducted by postal voting using the first past the post (FPP) electoral system. Voting will open on Thursday 16 September and will close at noon on Friday 8 October 2021.

Enrolment and Special Voting Arrangements

Residents within the Coastal Ward who are not listed on the final electoral roll for this election can enrol by calling 0800 36 76 56, visiting the Electoral Commission Website (www.vote.nz(external link)) or by freetext to 3676 up to 4pm Thursday 7 October 2021.

Ratepayers of the Coastal Ward who live outside the Coastal Ward area and who are not on the final electoral roll for this election can obtain ratepayer elector enrolment forms from the Christchurch City Council Electoral Officer or website and enrol up to 4pm on Thursday 7 October 2021.

Special voting facilities for the above election will be available Monday to Friday 9am to 5pm between Thursday 16 September and noon on Friday 8 October 2021 from:

  • Christchurch City Council Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch
  • Shirley Library and Service Centre, Customer Services Desk, 36 Marshland Road, Shirley, Christchurch

Special voting papers can also be requested from the Electoral Officer on 03 941 8581 or jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz

Jo Daly
Electoral Officer
Christchurch Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street 8013
PO Box 73016, Christchurch 8154
03 941 8581    ccc.govt.nz/elections