Voting in the 2019 local elections has now closed.

Voting return statistics(external link) are updated daily, and show how many votes have been received so far.

New Zealand Post delivers voting papers. After receiving your voting document you should complete it, seal it in the return postage-paid envelope and post or deliver it to the Electoral Officer.

Hand-delivered completed voting documents can be returned to the Christchurch City Council Civic Offices at 53 Hereford Street, or any open Council library or service centre, before noon on Saturday 12 October.

To make sure your vote gets delivered before voting closes, post it no later than 5pm on Tuesday 8 October.

Anyone who is not able to complete a postal vote independently due to disability is invited to contact the Electoral Officer. The candidate profile booklet can be provided in larger text on request.

Special voting

If you don't receive any voting papers, you can request a special vote. There are many reasons you could cast a special vote, including:

  • your name does not appear on the final electoral roll, but you qualify as an elector 
  • you have chosen to put your name on the unpublished (confidential) roll
  • you have moved since the electoral roll was compiled (and have lived at your new residential address for one month or more)
  • you spoilt, lost or did not receive your ordinary voting document 
  • you will be away from your residential address during the voting period
  • you are eligible to vote for some positions in the elections as a ratepayer elector (for a property you own but do not live in)

If you aren't on the electoral roll and you need to request a special vote, you'll need to enrol. Visit the Electoral Commission(external link), call 0800 36 76 56, or freetext your name and address to 3676. 

You will need to complete a statutory declaration when you cast a special vote. This is a legal requirement to protect voters against possible duplicate voting.  The statutory declaration will be provided to the person casting a special vote, along with a special voting paper and candidate information booklet.

Where can I get my special voting documents?

Special voting documents will be available Monday to Friday from Friday 20 September 2019 until Friday 11 October, at the following locations and times. All locations are accessible.

  • Akaroa Service Centre, 78 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa (9am–5pm)
  • Beckenham Service Centre, 66 Colombo Street, Beckenham (9am–5pm)
  • Christchurch City Council Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street (9am–5pm)
  • Fendalton Service Centre, corner of Clyde and Jeffreys roads, Fendalton (9am–5pm)
  • Linwood Service Centre, Eastgate Mall, first floor, Corner Buckleys Road and Linwood Avenue (9am–5pm)
  • Lyttelton Service Centre, 18 Canterbury Street, Lyttelton (10am–6pm)
  • Shirley Service Centre, 36 Marshland Road, Shirley (9am–5pm)
  • Te Hāpua Halswell Service Centre, 341 Halswell Road, Halswell (9am–5pm)

On Saturday 12 October, special voting documents will also be available from the Christchurch City Council Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, from 9am until the close of voting at noon.

You can also get them by phoning or emailing the Electoral Officer on 03 941 8681 or

The completed voting paper must be returned by noon on election day, Saturday 12 October.

Who can I vote for?

Christchurch City Council has two decision-making parts: the Council and Community Boards.

You can vote for:

  • the mayor and a ward councillor
  • community board members

You can find your ward and community board on this map

The term for elected members is three years.


The Council is made up of the Mayor and 16 Councillors. It makes decisions important to Christchurch as a whole.

All Christchurch voters elect the Mayor, while Councillors are elected by voters from the ward they represent.

Community Boards

Christchurch's seven community boards represent their individual areas and cover two to three wards.

Each community board has between six and nine members, elected by voters from the areas they represent.

Councillors are also members of the community board covering their ward.

Community boards make decisions on local issues, activities and facilities, and help build strong communities.

Kids voting

Kids voting gives young people aged 11 to 15 years (school years 7 to 10) the opportunity to experience an election first hand.

Students vote for real candidates on real issues and can see how their results compare to the official election results.

Find out more about kids voting on Local Government New Zealand's website.(external link)