Every three years, the people of Christchurch get to vote for a Mayor, councillors and community board members to represent our diverse communities.

Innes ward Community Board by-election

The by-election for someone to represent the Innes ward, to fill the vacancy on the Waipapa Papanui-Innes-Central Community Board, was held on 17 February 2023.

Voting in the by-election started on Thursday 26 January and closed at noon on Friday 17 February 2023.

See the candidates and find out everything you need to know.


2022 local elections

The local elections were held on Saturday 8 October 2022 and included elections for Christchurch City Council, Community Boards and Environment Canterbury.