A by-election for an extraordinary vacancy for one member from the Mt Herbert Subdivision of the Banks Peninsula Community Board was held on Tuesday 18 February 2020.

Scott Winter has been elected Mt Herbert's representative on the Banks Peninsula Community Board.

With 30.93 per cent of Mt Herbert electors voting in the by-election, the final results [PDF, 41 KB] show:

Scott Winter, Independent, has 518 votes.

Dawn Sutton, Independent, has 206 votes.

Read more on Newsline.(external link)

Election returns are updated each day(external link).

Mt Herbert Subdivision by-election candidates 



My principal residence is within the Mt Herbert subdivision of the Banks Peninsula Community Board area.

I have lived in the area for about 3 years.

I have been a nurse for 40 years; people and the community are important to me. Since moving to the area, I have come to understand this unique community and the challenges it faces. I am empathetic, accessible and committed to listening to the people of this area.

As an independent I want to advocate for the community around maintaining and improving our current infrastructure. In addition, I want to consult and advocate for further development of infrastructure and facilities in the area for the benefit of community and its residence.


WINTER ScottIndependent

My principal residence is within the Mt Herbert subdivision of the Banks Peninsula Community Board area.

I have been proud to call Banks Peninsula home for the last two years after purchasing an ex forestry block which my family and I are replanting in natives.

I am a licensed builder and project manager and excel at finding solutions to challenges, but at the end of the day I’m a father, husband and regular bloke that wants to get involved so the right decisions can be made for our community. I believe in honesty, integrity and hard work. I support local initiatives that promote our unique community and want to see our taxpayers dollars spent wisely. I would also like to see private investment in infrastructure and local projects, and help keep our bays beautiful.

Candidate return of electoral donations and expenses

Candidates for the by-election of the Mt Herbert Subdivision of the Banks Peninsula Community Board must submit a return of electoral donations and expenses.

The returns of both candidates are below:

Special voting

A polling place for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available Monday to Friday at the following locations between Monday 27 January and noon Tuesday 18 February 2020:

  • The Council’s Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch, 9am to 5pm
  • Lyttelton Library and Customer Services (Customer Services Desk), 18 Canterbury Street, Lyttelton, 10am to 6pm
  • By contacting the Electoral Officer on 03 941 8581 or jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz to get special voting papers posted to you

More information

The by-election will be conducted by postal vote using the First Past the Post voting electoral system, under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and Local Electoral Regulations 2019.

Candidates can check out useful information here(external link) and read the 2019 Candidate Information Booklet here [PDF, 30 MB].

The Electoral Officer for this by-election is Jo Daly at the Christchurch City Council. Jo can be contacted by phone on 03 941 8581 or 027 236 9052 or email at jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz.

Key dates

Date Action
Monday 25 November 2019 Nominations open, electoral roll opens
Noon on Monday 23 December 2019 Nominations close, electoral roll closes
Monday 27 January 2020 Voting opens, voting documents start being delivered
Tuesday 18 February 2020 Election day (voting closes at noon), progress results released
Wednesday 19 February 2020 Preliminary results released
Monday 24 February 2020 Public notice of final results

Public notices