The Old Stone House, an historic building nestled at the foot of the Port Hills, has been restored.

stone house

In 2014 the Council announced it was committing funding to the repair and strengthening of the facility. 

The Old Stone House was built in 1870 by Sir John Cracroft Wilson to house his servants. Partially destroyed by fire in 1971, it was rebuilt by the community in 1979. 

The amazing gardens and interesting architecture made it a much-loved and used community facility for meetings, craft groups, clubs and as a premiere wedding and function venue before its closure after the February 2011 earthquake.

The building was only at 15 per cent of New Building Standard (NBS), meaning it was considered earthquake-prone and in need of extensive repairs and strengthening. The facility has been repaired and strengthened to 67 percent of New Building Standard.

The work included installing new diaphragm walls and roof connections, deconstruction and reconstruction of the chimneys, replacement of the stone lintels and sealing the concrete walls and foundations with pressure injected epoxy.

To celebrate completion, the Old Stone House will enjoy a community opening day on Saturday 17 February 2018, 1.30pm to 4pm.