Christchurch NZ and Christchurch UK officially became Sister Cities in 1972. The relationship is based on tourism, cultural and educational exchanges.

Christchurch Priory bell tower, UKThe shared name between Christchurch NZ and Christchurch UK is coincidental – Christchurch NZ was named after Christ Church College at Oxford University. Both Christchurch cities also have an Avon River, but again the names have separate origins. Founded in the seventh century, Christchurch UK is both a borough and town in the county of Dorset on the south coast of England.

Residents of Christchurch UK live in a town of tiny cottages and traditional pubs, excellent restaurants and speciality shops. The town has a temperate climate with sandy beaches and a dramatic coastline. About 1.5 million people visit Christchurch UK every year to enjoy the harbour, beaches, festivals, nature reserves and historically important buildings.