Community Service Awards are given to individuals and groups in recognition of significant voluntary service.

Nominations for the 2016 Community Service Awards are now open and close at 5pm on Friday 8 April 2016.

Christchurch City Council's Community Service Awards are a way of giving well-deserved recognition to people who make our communities better places to live. They are a way of thanking and honouring volunteers who without pay and little recognition demonstrate dedication and passion, inspiring others to make service a central part of their lives.

Whether it be for youth, older adults, education, culture, church, recreation, sport or community service fields, we want to make sure they are thanked and honoured for their dedication. We only find out about these people through you. If you know of someone who deserves recognition for their community service, nominate them for a Community Service Award. 

 Community Services Awards timeline

  • Friday 11 March - Nominations open.
  • Friday 8 April, 5pm - Nominations close.
  • April-May - The respective Community Boards consider nominations.
  • May-June - Nominees and Nominators will be advised of decision.
  • June-July - Recipients receive awards at a ceremony hosted by their local Community Boards

 Community Boards participating in 2016 

  • Fendalton-Waimairi
  • Hagley-Ferrymead
  • Riccarton-Wigram
  • Spreydon-Heathcote

Community Service Award nominations are considered and decided by the respective Community Boards. 

People will be eligible for Community Service Awards in the area that they do the work in, however, if the work is for a metropolitan organisation that covers more than two board areas then the nomination shall be considered in the community board area that the nominee lives in.

Please note: Community Boards not participating this year are - Akaroa/Wairewa, Burwood/Pegasus, Lyttelton/Mt Herbert and Shirley/Papanui.  

Youth Service Awards

Youth Service Awards are presented in recognition of significant voluntary service carried out by residents aged 25 or under, living in either the Riccarton-Wigram or Spreydon-Heathcote Board areas only. This award is to recognise individual effort rather than that of a whole group or organisation.

How to nominate

Nominating the person you value within your organisation, club or society is easy.

Here's how to get started:

  1. Make sure you have two executive officers who are prepared to sign the nomination form. Both must be aware of the details of the nomination.
  2. Gather details on the scope of the nominee's service and length of time they have completed
  3. Think about how the community has benefitted from their service
  4. Collect supporting information like a letter of support or evidence of their service. Please try to include as much evidence to support your nomination to assist the Community Board in their deliberations.
  5. Fill in a nomination form before 5pm on Friday 8 April 2016.

Online nomination form

Fill out the online nomination form here

Paper nomination form

Download and print a Nomination Form or pick one up from your nearest Christchurch City Council Library or Service CentreOnce you have completed and signed your nomination form either

Community Support Officer
Papanui Service Centre, Christchurch City Council
PO Box 73024, Christchurch 8154
Cnr Langdons Road and Restell Street, Papanui

Community Services Awards 2016 nomination form and guidelines (PDF) [1.59MB]

Community Service Awards 2016 poster [1.30MB]