The Lyttelton Mt Herbert Board is a sub-division of the Banks Peninsula Ward which includes Lyttelton, Diamond Harbour, Governors Bay, Port Levy and Quail Island.

Key Facts

  • 5,274 residents and 2,208 households.
  • 4 Council social housing complexes (2 are currently closed).
  • 5 full primary schools.
  • 2 medical centres.
  • 2 Council libraries.
  • 2 museums.
  • Approximately 520 businesses employing 1,500 people, including recently opened supermarket.
  • Major sport and recreation amenities: Lyttelton Recreation Centre and Norman Kirk Memorial Pool.
  • Main shopping areas in Lyttelton, Governors Bay and Diamond Harbour.
  • 18 neighbourhood facilities (Council community centres, halls, and cottages).
  • Lyttelton Town Centre listed as a Category One Historic Area in 2009.
  • 9 resident/community associations, 1 business association, and 3 Reserve Management Committees.
  • 2 marae.

Community Projects

  • There are approximately 117 community groups supporting community development and recreation in the area.
  • There is 1 Council supported community organisation network that meets bimonthly.
  • As at November 2014 there are 24 community projects operating that are funded through the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board.
  • Community Board sponsored projects: Community Service Awards; Edible Garden Awards; Youth Development Scheme; Neighbourhood Week; ANZAC Day community services.

Profile Areas