Mt Herbert subdivision by-election 2020 Information guide

This by-election is being held on Tuesday 18 February 2020 to cover the extraordinary vacancy for one member for the Mt Herbert subdivision of the Banks Peninsula Community Board.

The extraordinary vacancy has arisen because only one of the two positions representing the Mt Herbert subdivision was filled at October's Christchurch City Council local government elections.

The by-election will be conducted by postal vote using the First Past the Post voting electoral system, under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and Local Electoral Act Regulations 2001.

The Electoral Officer for this by-election is Jo Daly. Jo can be contacted by phone on (03) 941 8581 or 027 236 9052 or by email at <u>jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz</u>

Public notice of by-election
Nominations open
Preliminary electoral roll open for inspection
Nominations close at noon
Preliminary electoral roll closes
Public notice of election and candidate names*
Delivery of voting document begins
Progressive roll scrutiny
Early processing period starts
Special voting period starts
Election day
Voting closes at noon
Progress results available
Preliminary results released
Official results available
Public notice of declaration of result
Candidate return of electoral donations and expenses
form due

By-election timetable

* If only one nomination is received an election will not be held. The public notice will declare the candidate elected unopposed.

Nominations

Nominations for the vacancy open on Monday 25 November and close at noon on Monday 23 December.

Nomination forms and candidate information are available from:

- The Council's Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch
- Lyttelton Library and Customer Services (Customer Services Desk), 18 Canterbury Street, Lyttelton



- Online at <u>www.ccc.govt.nz/elections</u>
- By contacting the Electoral Officer on 03 941 8581 or <u>jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz</u> to request one be posted to you.

Full eligibility criteria for this by-election are detailed on the reverse of the nomination form and in the candidate information sheet provided with the nomination form. Candidates do not need to reside within the Mt Herbert subdivision of the Banks Peninsula Community Board, but must be a New Zealand Citizen, enrolled as a parliamentary elector in New Zealand and be nominated by two electors who are enrolled on the Mt Herbert subdivision electoral roll.

Completed nomination forms for this by-election must be lodged with the Electoral Officer, Jo Daly at the Christchurch Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch or by email to <u>jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz</u> on or before noon on Monday 23 December. Along with the nomination form the candidate:

- must pay a \$200 (including GST) nomination deposit
- may submit a candidate profile statement of up to 150 words
- may submit a photo to be used for this by-election
- must provide evidence of New Zealand citizenship.

A full Candidate Information Booklet was produced for the recently concluded 2019 local body elections. This booklet contains detailed information for candidates, including campaigning requirements and election offences. This information booklet is available online at www.ccc.govt.nz/elections or on request from the Electoral Officer.

Electoral rolls

Those eligible to vote in the by-election are all residential electors and non-residential ratepayer electors in the Mt Herbert community subdivision of the Banks Peninsula ward whose names appear on the parliamentary electoral roll when they close on Monday 23 December 2019.

The preliminary electoral roll is available for public inspection from Monday 25 November to Monday 23 December 2019 at:

- The Council's Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch
- Diamond Harbour Library, Waipapa Avenue, Diamond Harbour
- Lyttelton Library and Customer Services, 18 Canterbury Street, Lyttelton.

A person may still enrol as an elector and vote using a special vote up until Monday 17 February 2020.

Residential roll

All parliamentary electors are automatically enrolled on the residential roll at the address where they live. Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by:

- Calling 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56)
- Visiting the elections website <u>www.vote.nz</u>
- Completing an enrolment form available from any NZ Post agency.



Ratepayer roll

If a person is on the parliamentary roll in another area of Christchurch or New Zealand than the Banks Peninsula ward, this person may be eligible to be enrolled on the non-resident ratepayer roll. A firm, company, corporation or society paying rates on a property in the Mt Herbert subdivision may nominate one of its members or officers as a ratepayer elector (providing the nominated person resides outside of the ward).

Ratepayer roll enrolment forms are available on the Council website <u>www.ccc.govt.nz/elections</u> or from the Electoral Officer.

Voting

Should the number of candidates exceed the number of vacancies, voting documents will be posted to all eligible electors from Monday 27 January 2020.

The voting period is from Monday 27 January 2020 until noon on Tuesday 18 February 2020. Electors can post completed voting documents back to the Electoral Officer using the pre-paid envelope sent with voting papers or deliver them to the Diamond Harbour Library, Lyttelton Library and Customer Services or the Council Civic Offices before the close of voting.

A polling place for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available Monday to Friday at the following locations between Monday 27 January and noon Tuesday 18 February 2020.

- The Council's Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch, 9am–5pm
- Lyttelton Library and Customer Services (Customer Services Desk), 18 Canterbury Street, Lyttelton, 10am–6pm
- By contacting the Electoral Officer on 03 941 8581 or <u>jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz</u> to get special voting papers posted to you.

All completed voting documents must be returned by noon on Tuesday 18 February 2020.

Preliminary results will be provided as soon as they are available after the close of voting on byelection day and final results are expected to be available by Saturday 21 February. All results will be accessible on Council's webpage: <u>www.ccc.govt.nz/elections</u>

For further information please contact the Electoral Officer.

