Please Wait...
progress bar
Last reviewed: Wed, 06 Nov 2013

Community boards

There are eight community boards within Christchurch City.

Each board comprises five directly elected members, plus one Councillor appointed by the Council (in the case of the Akaroa-Wairewa and Lyttelton-Mt Herbert Community Boards) and two Councillors appointed by the Council (in the case of the six metropolitan community boards). Boards report to the Council following each board meeting.

Community board meetings schedule January 2015 - September 2016 

Council meetings agenda

A number of Council powers have been delegated to community boards.

The community boards are:

  • Akaroa-Wairewa Community Board (Chair: Pam Richardson, Deputy Chair: Lyndon Graham)
  • Burwood-Pegasus Community Board (Chair: Andrea Cummings, Deputy Chair: Tim Baker)
  • Fendalton-Waimairi Community Board (Chair: Val Carter, Deputy Chair: David Cartwright)
  • Hagley-Ferrymead Community Board (Chair: Sara Templeton, Deputy Chair: Islay McLeod)
  • Lyttelton-Mt Herbert Community Board (Chair: Paula Smith, Deputy Chair: Jane Broughton)
  • Riccarton-Wigram Community Board (Chair Mike Mora, Deputy Chair: Helen Broughton)
  • Spreydon-Heathcote Community Board (Chair: Paul McMahon, Deputy Chair: Karolin Potter)
  • Shirley-Papanui Community Board (Chair: Mike Davidson, Deputy Chair: Aaron Keown).

Community board members contact details [PDF 275KB]

The community boards' main roles are to:

  • Represent and act as advocate for the interests of its community.
  • Consider and report on all matters referred to it by the Council, or any matter of interest to the board.
  • Maintain an overview of services provided by the Council within the community.
  • Prepare an annual submission to the Council for expenditure within the community.
  • Communicate with community organisations and special interest groups within the community.

Community boards allocate funding as part of the Strengthening Communities Fund, which is intended to support community-focused organisations whose projects contribute to the strengthening of community wellbeing in the Christchurch City area.

In addition, community boards allocate an annual amount of money to fund young people in their local community. As part of the Community Board Youth Development Fund, community boards will consider applications for a variety of activities.

Ward & community maps

Please note that the 2010 (colour) maps reflect minor boundary changes from the 2007 (black & white) maps as a result of a review by the Local Government Commission of the Council's governance arrangements.


Authorising Unit: Democracy Services

Last reviewed: Wednesday, 6 November 2013

Next review: Tuesday, 6 May 2014

Keywords: community boards