The volunteer programme restores and maintains native forest in designated areas of the Port Hills.

Port Hills volunteer planting; photo Neil MacBeth.

Autumn maintenance

Keen to help native plants survive?  Maintenance is a critical step in the restoration process. 

Date Reserve Time
Sat 20 Feb Mt Ada 1-3 pm
Sat 27 Feb Dry Bush 1-3 pm
Sat 6 Mar Bowenvale 1-3 pm
Sat 13 Mar Latters 1-3 pm

Winter planting

Date Reserve Time
Sat 29 May Barnett Park 1-3 pm
Sat 5 June Bowenvale 1-3 pm
Sat 12 Jun Dry Bush  1-3 pm
Sat 19 Jun Barnett Park 1-3 pm

Spring maintenance

Keen to help native plants survive the summer? Join us next spring for our maintenance days.

Date Reserve Time
Sat 25 Sept Barnett Park 1-3 pm
Sat 2 Oct Bowenvale 1-3 pm
Sat 9 Oct Dry Bush 1-3 pm
Sat 16 Oct TBC 1-3 pm

Join Christchurch City Council Rangers for planting and maintenance days across the seasons in our unique and stunning Port Hills.

Volunteers plant native trees each winter and maintain them in spring and autumn to reduce competition from grass.

Maintenance is the most critical part of ecological restoration success. Without regular maintenance for the first three years, plants wouldn't survive due to grass competition.

What to bring

  • Weather appropriate clothing – layers, rain jacket, hat
  • Sturdy footwear for hill work
  • Gardening gloves
  • Hedge clippers (if you have your own but these will also be provided)
  • Water bottle and a snack.

Where to meet

Barnett Park: meet at the end of Bayview Road, Redcliffs. 

Latters Spur and Eastside Bush:  
Meet at the car park behind Victoria Park Visitor Centre no later than 12.45pm. We will walk from here to the site as a group.

Kennedy's Bush: 
From Dyers Pass Road, turn west at the Sign of the Kiwi onto Summit Road and continue approx. 3km to the parking site at Hoon Hay Saddle.

Dry Bush: 
Park at the top of Huntsbury Avenue, and walk up Huntsbury Track to Dry Bush. Or park on the Summit Road and walk down Huntsbury Track to Dry Bush. There is no parking on the track.

 

Contact

For more information email Parks.Volunteers@ccc.govt.nz or contact our park ranger Fiona on 027 506 1425 or  fiona.fenton@ccc.govt.nz