As there is so much to see in the Botanic Gardens you might like to consider taking a tour. There are a number of different options for tours.

Please note that the caterpillar tours are currently not operating. They are scheduled to reopen in October 2021.

Friends of the Christchurch Botanic Gardens tours

Friend's Guided WalkVolunteer guides from the Friends of the Botanic Gardens are offering free guided walks!

  • 1.30pm daily
  • Meet outside the Kiosk
  • If you have more than five people in your group, please register your attendance with Friendsofthegardens@gmail.com 
  • All Mona Vale Gardens tours are 90 minutes long. Please meet by the Mona Vale lily pond for these tours.
  • Botanic Gardens tours are 45 minutes long unless otherwise stated below.

A fantastic guided tour by knowledgeable and friendly guides showcasing some of our spectacular collections. 

Date Walk theme
Friday 15 January Rock and Crevice Garden
Saturday 16 January New Zealand Gardens
Sunday 17 January Mona Vale Gardens (90 minutes)
Sunday 17 January General interest walk (60-90 minutes)
Monday 18 January The Conservatories
Tuesday 19 January Notable Trees
Wednesday 20 January Cockayne Memorial Garden
Thursday 21 January Curator's Garden
Friday 22 January New Zealand Gardens
Saturday 23 January Armstrong Lawn: History and trees
Sunday 24 January Notable Trees
Monday 25 January The Conservatories
Tuesday 26 January Gondwana Collection
Wednesday 27 January New Zealand Gardens
Thursday 28 January The Conservatories
Friday 29 January Herbaceous Border
Saturday 30 January Mona Vale Gardens (90 minutes)
Saturday 30 January General interest walk (60-90 min)
Sunday 31 January Plant Hunters: Trees and their stories

Please note that the caterpillar tours are currently not operating. They are scheduled to reopen in October 2021.

Caterpillar Tour (external link)

Botanic Garden Tours(external link) operate a guided audio tour of the Gardens in electric shuttles. 

Tour times:

  • Summer (October to March): 10am to 3.30pm daily 
  • Winter (April to September): 11am to 3.30pm daily 

For more information or to book, contact Botanic Gardens Tours on (03) 366 7830 or info@christchurchattractions.nz.

Meet the shuttle at the museum gates on Rolleston Avenue, or outside the Visitor Centre.

Please contact the Christchurch Botanic Gardens Visitor Centre for more information or to book a tour – phone 03 941 7590 or email christchurchbotanicgardens@ccc.govt.nz

Tour type Duration Cost Description
Guided walking tour for community group
1 hour $5 per person, with a minimum of $60 and maximum of $155 per group Groups of local visitors can request guided tours through the Botanic Gardens on a range of topics.
Guided walking tour for tourist group
1 hour $350 per group Tourist groups can request guided tours through the Botanic Gardens on a range of topics.

 If one or more members of your group has limited mobility, please contact the Botanic Gardens Visitor Centre on 941 7590 or email christchurchbotanicgardens@ccc.govt.nz to discuss accessibility options.